Bolinao, Pangasinan (March 2011)

My first time in Bolinao, Pangasinan was for a music video shoot for Miguel Escueta’s Now It Starts.

The trip to Bolinao was purely for work but I instantly fell in love with the place. We stayed at a beach-front resort : Punta Riviera in Brgy Ilog Malino, Bolinao Pangasinan.

Check out their website here: http://www.puntarivieraresort.com/

My Producer stayed in Puerto del Sol before but she didn’t really like the place, so she booked rooms for the team in Punta Riviera instead. Rooms can accommodate 2-4 people. Some can even accommodate 20pax. I don’t have photos but you can see them in their website. I am also not sure if they have free breakfast – we had catering care of Punta Riviera for the crew.

The good thing is that it’s a bit cheaper than Puerto del Sol. Here are a few photos from my iPod.

Yes we had a bonfire! It’s part of the shoot. Haven’t you seen the video?? Go and watch it first before reading the rest of the entry!

Here’s Miguel Escueta shooting a message for our behind the scenes video.

There are open cottages at the beach front where you can put your stuff or eat lunch/snacks. You can also ask the hotel staff for kayak or boat rentals if you want to explore Ilog Malino. Punta Riviera’s got a pool if you want to go swimming at night. The only downside, which is actually the main problem (I think) by most resorts in Bolinao, is the low tide. From the beach, you have to walk a long way first to be able to take a decent swim.

We headed to an amazing sea-side rock formation place and shot most of the singing clips there. The place was amazing. I should have brought a decent camera with me that day. It’s better if you stop by there during sunset. I bet your photos will look fantastic.

There is a minimum entrance fee of Php20-Php50 (sorry can’t remember, but I swear it’s cheap) as payment for those who are keeping the place clean. Look for the small signs with ‘Rock Formation’ by the road on the way to Cape Bolinao.

And since we don’t have anything planned yet for that coming summer (May 2011), I asked my friends to help me plan a trip to Bolinao! I’ll write about this soon.

Leave a Reply

